Olathe Logo 1.svg

Business Climate


Sales Tax9.475%
Current Mill Levy (varies based on school district)125.010 (Olathe District Schools)



Corporate Income Tax (2014 rate)4% of net income, with 3% surtax on net income over $50,000
Individual Income Tax (2014 rate – married filing joint)2.7% on taxable income not over $30,000; if taxable income is over $30,000, then $810 plus 4.8% of excess over $30,000

Drive Time from Olathe

Sprint World Headquarters12 minutes
Downtown Kansas City20 minutes
University of Kansas25 minutes
Truman Sports Complex25 minutes
Country Club Plaza25 minutes
Kansas City International Airport45 minutes

Cost of Living Index

Dallas, TX103.9
Atlanta, GA106.6
Phoenix, AZ105.8
Kansas City, KS/MO94.6
United Stated Average100
Cleveland, OH92.4
Denver, CO114.7
Minneapolis, MN102.3
Chicago, IL121.3
Los Angeles, CA148.0
Washington, DC154.4
New York, NY (Manhattan)239.3

Source: ACCRA Cost of Living Index 2013 Annual Average Data


Our city and region benefit from competitive energy costs and service provided by business-friendly and responsive public and private utilities. For more information on a specific utility need, visit our providers’ websites:


Kansas City Power & Light

Westar Energy

Natural Gas:

Kansas Gas Service

Atmos Energy


City of Olathe

Johnson County Wastewater

Cable, Interet & Phone:

AT&T U-verse®


Google Fiber


City of Olathe


Olathe City Government

The City of Olathe operates under a modified mayor-council-manager form of government. Under Charter Ordinance No. 28, this form of government calls for:

  • A mayor and two councilmembers elected by the city as a whole.
  • Four councilmembers elected by wards.
  • All members are elected to four-year staggered terms.

As the policy makers, the City Council passes resolutions and ordinances, approves the budget, appoints citizens to advisory boards and hires the city manager who serves at the pleasure of the Council. The city manager is responsible for administering the affairs of the city. Much like the executive branch of the federal government, the city manager sees that the laws and ordinances are enforced.

Johnson County Government

The County operates under a Commission-Manager form of government, vesting legislative power and oversight authority in an elected, seven-member Board of County Commissioners. Johnson County is divided into six districts, with one county commissioner representing each. Additionally, the County elects a chairman of the board. Administrative authority is delegated to and exercised by a county manager, appointed by and accountable to the Board of County Commissioners.

For more information, visit Johnson County, Johnson County Officials

See more at: http://www.opedc.org/community-profile/government/