INDEPENDENCE, MO (June 8, 2015) – The Comcast Foundation today announced that eleven Kansas City area high school seniors have been named 2015 recipients of the foundation’s annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program. The Comcast Foundation was started in 1999 to provide charitable support to local communities and to empower and enrich lives across the country.


The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors who strive to achieve their potential, and who serve as role-model catalysts for positive change in their schools and communities.  The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to be prepared for the future, and to demonstrate the importance and value placed on civic involvement by the business community


“Each year, we are excited to provide scholarships for these talented and dedicated students,” said Sam Hassan, Director of Sales & Marketing for Comcast Kansas City.  “Comcast recognizes students who achieve academic excellence in the classroom, demonstrate leadership abilities in school activities and who reflect a strong commitment to community service.  These students are our future leaders and we hope these scholarships will help to power their dreams for success.”


The eleven Kansas City area winners (listed below) will be recognized at a special reception to be held this Thursday, June 11, at the historic Union Station, in the Arthur Stilwell Room, in downtown Kansas City. Christy Nitche, Director of Science City at Union Station, will serve as emcee for the evening’s festivities.    


The Kansas City Area 2015 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship recipients include: 

Cooper Yerby                    Overland Park

Brianna Woicke                 Olathe

Aziza Harrell                       Kansas City

Abbey Widick                    Lee’s Summit

Dustin Tull                           Independence

Sarah Holloway                 Raytown

Caleb Winslow                  Buckner

Hope Kunkel                      Lee’s Summit

Bennett Stouffer             Lee’s Summit

Austin Blackton                 Oak Grove

Elizabeth Smith                 Independence


Since the national program’s inception in 2000, Comcast has provided scholarships to more than 23,000 students nationwide totaling $22.8 million.  In the Kansas City area, Comcast started its student scholarship program in 2011 and to date has honored 49 students, awarding a total of $49,000.


Elected officials who will be attending include –

Eileen Weir                         Mayor of Independence

Mike Cierpiot                     Missouri State Representative

Bill Kidd                                Missouri State Representative

Rebecca Roeber               Missouri State Representative

Chelsea Chaney                District Director on behalf of Senator Pat Roberts

About The Comcast Foundation

The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to provide charitable support to qualified non-profit organizations. The Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive, sustainable impact on their communities. The Foundation has three community investment priorities—promoting community service, expanding digital literacy and building tomorrow‘s leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast Foundation has donated nearly $140 million to organizations in the communities nationwide that Comcast serves.  More information about the Foundation and its programs is available at www.comcast.com/community.


# # #


Media Contact:

Jayne Siemens


cell – 816-289-1109

office – 913-268-0606