Comcast awards $10,000 in scholaships to KC students

Comcast awards $10,000 in scholaships to KC students

Comcast Kansas City has awarded $10,000 in scholarships for the 2018-19 school year to 10 graduating high school seniors as part of the company’s annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program. The program, funded by the Comcast Foundation, is a one-time, $1,000 scholarship awarded to the best and brightest high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills.   

“Our Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners are exceptional students who are committed to academic excellence and community service,” said J.D. Keller, regional vice president, Comcast. “We are honored to recognize their achievements and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys.”
Comcast is hosting a special reception honoring this year’s winners on Wednesday, June 20 from 5:00 pm to 6:30 p.m. at the Stoney Creek Conference Center, Metal Room, 18011 Bass Pro Drive, Independence, MO. Family members, supporters and a variety of local and elected officials are anticipated to attend the event. 
Since 2001, more than $28 million has been awarded to nearly 27,000 high school seniors across the country as part of the Leaders and Achievers Program.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides scholarships to students who strive to achieve their full potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.
here to learn more.

The 2018 Kansas City Area Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Recipients are:

  • Nicolette Bowman, Independence, William Chrisman High School
  • Alexis Cook, Independence, Ft. Osage High School
  • Samuel Fish, Peculiar, Raymore-Peculiar High School
  • Amaya Jimenez, Independence, Truman High School
  • Andrew Mitchell, Lee’s Summit, Lee’s Summit Senior High School
  • Andrew Romero, Kansas City, Raytown Senior High School
  • Camden Smith, Oak Grove, Oak Grove High School
  • Brady Stanfield, Olathe, Olathe Northwest High School
  • Alexandra Widick, Lee’s Summit, Blue Springs South High School
  • Akilah Wright, Lee’s Summit, Lee’s Summit North High School